PDA

View Full Version : New Member

bettagirls334
03-09-2009, 09:38 PM
Hello I am new to this whole fish thing. I purchased a beautiful yellow betta two weeks ago. He never seemed to adjust and did not eat. I brought him back to the pet shop the fish man said he had ich or the ammonia level in the water was too high. Long story short I bought an ich treatment as well as a a water test kit , treated the poor guy and found him dead this morning. I am not sure what I did to kill him he had a 3 gallon tank all to himself only bloodworms and brine shrimp to eat and the water was as clean as it could be. Please help if you have any information.

UNCLERICK666
03-10-2009, 06:45 PM
:thinking:

DON'T FRET YOU DIDN'T KILL HIM. :hug:

IT'S NOT LIKELY THAT ENOUGH AMMONIA COULD BUILD UP IN 3 GAL. OF WATER FROM A FISH THAT ISN'T EATING. UNLESS YOU LEFT DEAD FOOD IN THE WATER.

YOU CAN SEE WHITE SPOTS LIKE SALT IF IT'S ICH. AND IF SO.... MOST LIKELY HAD IT BEFORE YOU GOT HIM HOME.

ARE YOU ON CITY WATER? DID YOU TREAT THE WATER AND CHECK THE TEMP. BEFORE ADDING THE FISH?

IF YOUR FEEDING LIVE FOODS AND HE WASN'T EATING, THAN HE WAS PROBABLY SICK TO BEGIN WITH.

WELCOME TO AQUABOARDS, FISH ARE FUN, SO YOU MIGHT WANT TO TRY AGAIN.

ALL THE BEST........ UNCLE :cool:

bettagirls334
03-11-2009, 07:58 PM
Dear Uncle, Thank you for responding. I feel awful that the fish died. I am going to try again. You mentioned temperature, the betta book I bought said it should be between 78 and 82 degrees. The tank had a little heater the water was about 78 according to the thermometer. Is this wrong too hot, too cold. He did not have any spots that I could see but he was a very pale yellow.
Thanks Again, Bettagirls334

bettagirls334
03-11-2009, 08:07 PM