PDA

View Full Version : A transplanted Texan living in ND

Dani
03-29-2009, 09:15 PM
Howdy folks!

My name is Dani. I'm new to the hobby, as in I've been only attempting to keep fish for the last 5 years. I managed to keep a beautiful fantail for 18 months - he even made the trip to ND from NY last October, only to die in December. :sad2:

I have a ten gallon tank that currently has some floating plant (from Wally world, sorry), three small goldfish that I got from freecycle - the lady had them in strawberry pots! - a small pleco (again from Wally World) and a red male betta. They all get together and have been very active and fun to watch. Oh yeah I put in there some mystery pond-type very small snails that laid eggs (got 'em from a friend who said they were on his aquatic plants when he bought them from some LFS), two black mystery snails, and 2 gold mystery snails.

My hubby :king: bought a 29 gallon tank and let it sit 24 hours before filling it with fish. I could have killed him! :bump: Yes, the fish have all died off since then. He won't let me put plants or decorations in it. He has one filter in it (whereas mine has two filters and looks crystal clear, I might add :tongue:) and he won't let me pretty it up or add another filter. So I tried to treat it like a ten gallon and leave it be. Welllllll.... I put a few snails in it - he took them out and put them back in my tank. I grew some mystery bulb plant in it (from Wally World) and he objected but the fish nibble on it and he left it in. A freecycler posted that he needed to get rid of his fish and I couldn't resist. :whistle: So....