PDA

View Full Version : My introduction

Sergio
01-08-2011, 03:03 PM
Hi all

I'm new to the forum and I guess relatively new to Aquabid (have bought some things from some of you already).

Anyway I'm a biologist and have had tanks all my life. I keep mostly fish from the Poecilidae and Osphronemidae families since I find them fascinating, besides their beauty I'm very interested in their behavior and genetics (my research is not in fish though). Right now I have a 29 gal, two 10's, three 5's and several smaller containers.

I'm into really low tech aquariums so many of my tanks don't even have a filter. And in the past I have had some nice planted tanks without lighting by a window. I like trying to assemble such "almost self sustainable" tanks. I'm originally from Colombia and while doing field work I could observe the conditions under which some fish live (or survive for some time), and I guess that's how I got into unfiltered tanks.

As for breeding I like growing the fry in low tech tanks which clearly reduces grow rate (not stunting it, just slowing it) and the number of fry that make it (at least for bettas, gouramies and paradise fish) but its more "natural". Although I am cheating a bit now with the bettas using microworms. I'm playing a bit now with deroworms and Daphnia magna, I think they are the future of live food for small fish, although I'm still not able to produce enough to maintain my fish only on them.

Anyway just wanted to introduce myself

Thank you all for maintaining this community and specially Mark for starting all this.

Sergio

BigBen
01-08-2011, 03:06 PM
Welcome'

ilroost
01-08-2011, 05:50 PM
welcome from illinois

fishouttaH2o
01-08-2011, 06:02 PM
Welcome,

Looking forward to hearing about your experiences!

-dryfish

Aqpkg
01-09-2011, 09:27 PM
Welcome to the Aquaboards!

wicca25
01-10-2011, 11:43 AM